FAQ Profile Memberlist Usergroups Register
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages -> Log in  
Looking to purchase a smartphone, should I wait?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smartphone Thoughts Forum Index -> Verizon Wireless Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rmichaelson86
Smartphone Neophyte

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 8:27 pm    Post subject: Looking to purchase a smartphone, should I wait? Reply with quote

I am using verizon as my carrier, I cannot change carriers. I am looking for a smartphone. I am a student, and I would be using the smartphone mainly to keep track of day to day activities (calendar, etc). Wifi would be nice, being that I don't really want to drop $50/mo on wireless internet capabilities if I dont have to. I would like to be able to check email.

A text friendly, one handed dial phone is a must. And I believe I can view/edit MS word files? This would also be great.

I have been looking at the Palm Treo 700p...

Here is my question: is this the phone for me? It doesn't have WIFI, this is a bummer.

I am in no immediate hurry to buy a smartphone. Is there anything looming on the horizon that I should wait for? If there is something better (coming out within 8 months) that will come out for Verizon, I think I would wait.

What are your ideas?

I really appreciate it,
Ryan
Mike Temporale
Managing Editor

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Looking to purchase a smartphone, should I wait? Reply with quote

Does any Verizon phone support WiFi? The only carrier that seems to be remotely WiFi friendly is T-Mobile. Isn't Verizon one of the more expensive carriers in the US? I've seen people talking about data packages on T-Mo / Cingular for $20 or less a month.