FAQ Profile Memberlist Usergroups Register
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages -> Log in  
Play with Smartphone 2003 Emulator
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smartphone Thoughts Forum Index -> Developer Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kris Kumar
Contributing Editor


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 4917
Location: Rochester, NY, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2003 7:06 pm    Post subject: Play with Smartphone 2003 Emulator Reply with quote

Well since we dont have any 2003 phone in the mkt...Emulator is the only way to check out the features.

But I hate to run the Emulator thru the VC environment. I prefer direct command line execution.

So here is how its to be done...(wish MS had done a better job describing the process)

1. Download the Smartphone 2003 SDK from Microsoft site. (If the link does not work, look for the SDK in the Mobile Developer Downloads area.
2. I installed via the custom option, and chose not to install VC 4, coz I have VC3, and I am developing on it. Didnt want a clash !!
3. Well once the stuff is installed.
4. You will find the contents in \Program Files\Windows CE Tools\
5. Lets create a shortcut on ur desktop or wherever. In the shortcut TARGET put the following line (include the quotes, and correct the path/drive if required)

"C:\Program Files\Windows CE Tools\Common\Platman\bin\Emulator.exe" /CEImage "..\..\..\wce420\SMARTPHONE 2003\Emulation\SP_2003_WWE_VIRTUAL_RADIO.bin" /skin "..\..\..\wce420\SMARTPHONE 2003\Emulation\Smartphone_Emulator_Skin.xml" /MemorySize 64 /Ethernet true

6. In the shortcut START IN type in the following (this is usually put in automatically by the shortcut creation wizard)

"C:\Program Files\Windows CE Tools\Common\Platman\bin"

7. Now Double click the shortcut to Run the Smartphone Emulator

8. Njoy..but wait...

9. The first thing u want to play with is IE, after all thats the biggest improvement.
10. To use ur regular ethernet connection, u will have to add a Proxy Connection.
11. Settings->Data Connections->Menu->Edit Connections->Proxy Connections
12. Menu->Add
13. Enter Description
14. 'Connects from', select 'Work'
15. 'Connects' to, select 'Internet'
16. Proxy info if u need it
17. Done->Done->Done
18. Change 'Intenet Connection' from 'Automatic' to 'Netcard'

19. Now u can njoy...

Hope u guys find this useful...

Kris

Update: Added download links for the SDK. Smile Can't believe I never included them in my original post.


Last edited by Kris Kumar on Fri Aug 15, 2003 7:06 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brntcrsp
Smartphone Intellectual


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kris or anyone else, does the Emulator include T9 predictive entry? I despise multiple presses to get the words I want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kris Kumar
Contributing Editor


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 4917
Location: Rochester, NY, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Better, u can use the keyboard to enter text...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
smartphone2002.info
Smartphone Pupil


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried this on my laptop but if I install only the SDK there is no C:\Program Files\Windows CE Tools\Common path. Sad
_________________
Stephan Schmidt
Editor in Chief www.smartphone-web.com
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Kris Kumar
Contributing Editor


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 4917
Location: Rochester, NY, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops...looks like no two installs are the same...

Looked into it...

And it seems the Smartphone SDK is Smart enough to sense if Developer tools like Visual Studio .NET or EVC are installed. And installs the common components accordingly.

So depending on what u have already installed on your system, the location of the Emulator.exe will change.

So here some modifications to my original steps.

Lets modify Step 5.

5A. Search for Emulator.exe in your "program files" folder. And note down the path. I have come across two paths for Emulator.exe
(when SDK was installed on a system with VS .NET 2003)
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\CompactFrameworkSDK\ConnectionManager\Bin\Emulator.exe
(when VS .NET 2003 was present on the system)
C:\Program Files\Windows CE Tools\Common\Platman\bin\Emulator.exe
(note: if u have EVC 4 already installed, it might be at a third location)
5B. Create a shortcut. In the TARGET supply the following.
"<pathtoemulator>\Emulator.exe" /CEImage "<pathofimage>\SP_2003_WWE_VIRTUAL_RADIO.bin" /Skin "<pathtoimage>\Smartphone_Emulator_Skin.xml" MemorySize 64 /Ethernet true

<pathtoimage> should be something like "C:\Program Files\Windows CE Tools\wce420\SMARTPHONE 2003\Emulation"

6. In the shortcut START IN type in the following
"<pathtoemulator>"

NOTE: Replace the item in <> with the path on ur system.

Also NOTE: U might find that becoz of the long paths, the whole command line may not fit in the shortcut TARGET box. So u may have to convert the long path to shortpath e.g. "c:\Program Files" will be "C:\Progra~1"..the exact short path may differ based on system.

Overall running the Emulator from Command Line is painful the first time. But once setup its great.

Hope this works out for u. Let us know.
Kris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brntcrsp
Smartphone Intellectual


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's the code I used in a batch file because the target is too long for shortcuts.

Code:

@echo off

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\CompactFrameworkSDK\ConnectionManager\Bin\Emulator.exe" /CEImage "..\..\..\..\Windows CE Tools\wce420\SMARTPHONE 2003\Emulation\SP_2003_WWE_VIRTUAL_RADIO.bin" /skin "..\..\..\..\Windows CE Tools\wce420\SMARTPHONE 2003\Emulation\Smartphone_Emulator_Skin.xml" /MemorySize 64 /Ethernet true
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kris Kumar
Contributing Editor


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 4917
Location: Rochester, NY, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wonderful...totally forgot about batch files Smile

Converting long path to short path is a pain...

Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wuss912
Smartphone Ponderer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 78
Location: Sunnyvale, Calfornia

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NOTE:
this does require Microsoft eMbedded Visual C++ 4.0 installed with Service Pack 2 and/or Visual Studio .NET 2003
Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brntcrsp
Smartphone Intellectual


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fortunately eVC 4.0 is a free download, and all mobile development tools can be found here:

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmob...er/default.mspx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hmcheung
Smartphone Neophyte


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks kris for the trick!

this is the one that I use:

"F:\Progra~1\MICROS~2.NET\COMPAC~1\CONNEC~1\Bin\Emulator.exe" /CEImage "F:\Progra~1\WINDOW~2\wce420\SMARTP~1\EMULAT~1\SP_200~2.BIN" /skin "F:\Progra~1\WINDOW~2\wce420\SMARTP~1\EMULAT~1\SMARTP~1.XML" /MemorySize 64 /Ethernet true

just a reminder, we can use dir /x in command prompt to get the 8.3 format directory name ~ Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Smartphone Thoughts Forum Index -> Developer All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright 2004 Jason Dunn | Web design & development by Fabrizio Fiandanese